100-Year-Old Life Hacks

There are so many ways that we, as a society, could live much simpler lives. I’ve been trying to pare down my lifestyle this year. I am much more conscious of the water I use (and potentially reuse); I do not buy as many consumer goods as I used to; I check labels and try to direct my dollars to those products that are manufactured locally, or at least in North America; I tried my hand at gardening for the first time this summer; and, I’m transitioning to living a fully vegan lifestyle.

But living simple doesn’t have to include making substantial changes to the who/what/where/when/whys of your life. I saw a list posted on Facebook (I believe by George Takei) of simple and effective tips on disentangling one’s self from different life situations and after clicking on the link was charmed by the vintage artwork and delightful content. While numbers eight and ten aren’t really up my alley, I found the remaining collection of life hacks pulled from an advertisement campaign in the 1900s to be surprisingly on-target, and let out a few “aaaahaaaa’s!” while I read. I’m especially excited to try the following tips: “How to Extract a Splinter,” “How to Light a Match in the Wind,” and “How to Make a Water Filter.” 

I think there are so many things we could learn from those that came before us – here is but a small sample!

http://guff.com/100-year-old-life-hacks-that-still-work-today/how-to-make-a-water-filter

Just disregard the fact that these hints were printed by a cigarette company and keep them tucked away in the back of your mind for whenever the opportunity to try them out arises!

Leave a Reply

