Eggplant, Onion, & Tomato Stew

So, remember in my other post how I treasure one-pot meals? Here is the newest one I’ve tried.

This was my first time using eggplant in a recipe, though not the first time I’ve ever had it in my kitchen. I bought an eggplant once before (this was years ago) and had NO IDEA what to do with it. Sorry to say I likely tossed it out in frustration after cutting it open and being at a loss. I wasn’t about to make the same mistake twice – not only is wasting good food a crime against nature, it’s also a crime against a person’s wallet. 

Armed with another excellent recipe from One Green Planet I arranged all my ingredients on the counter alongside my trusty cutting board and set to work. Chopping vegetables is almost meditative for me – is that weird? With music playing and the house to myself I can easily get lost in the repetitive motions of slicing and dicing. If I was a prep cook in an actual restaurant, though, I doubt the novelty would last as long. But back to the recipe! While I had to make a special effort to pick up the eggplant from the grocery store, everything else in the recipe was already on hand. I didn’t have pink Himalayansalt so I substituted kosher salt and that seemed to work just fine. I also didn’t bother with purified water – not sure if this made any kind of difference, but I was willing to take that chance. Lastly, I added extra shallots because I like them and had some leftover from a different recipe – waste not want not!

stew2

stew 

I served the stew over plain white rice with some finely ground black pepper. Yum! 

The only thing I would change? I would definitely cut the eggplant into smaller pieces, and simmer them a little longer. Some of the chunks were still a touch stringy and tough. This made me question how interested I would be in using eggplant again, but to be fair, I will try this recipe at least once more with that little revision, to give it a fair shot. Also, next time I might consider throwing in some zucchini as well, just for a little more veggie power. 

You can find the recipe here: Eggplant Onion and Tomato Stew.

 

Leave a Reply

