Mongolie Grill

One of my favourite restaurants as a budding vegan is the very veggie-friendly eatery  Mongolie Grill.

The way that Mongolie works is simple: after offering you your choice of soup (wonton, hot & sour, or curry lentil), the server gives you a large bowl; you take your bowl up to the ingredient bar, which borders the large round cooking surface where a group of chefs are busy at work, and you fill your bowl with whatever fresh ingredients you’d like! There is so much to choose from – tons of veggies, noodles, a variety of meats, seafood, peanuts and occasionally tofu.

Next, you add scoops of whichever mixture of sauces you desire (there are about twenty different sauce options) and then a chef takes your bowl, weighs it, and stir-fries your custom meal. The stir-fry is then served to you with your choice of rices (jasmine, coconut, plain white) or, a recent addition, rice noodles. Rice wraps are also offered to you at your table. The cost of the meal is determined by weight, so if it is your first time visiting Mongolie you might want to be a little more conservative with what and how much you fill your bowl. As an added bonus, if your bowl is veggie or vegan you receive a discount!

I visited Mongolie yesterday with my good friend Lisa and in my stir-fry I had baby corn, kale, red onions, a mountain of chickpeas, pineapple, some dried cranberries, broccoli, and mushrooms. For sauces I mixed three scoops of teriyaki sauce with one scoop of Korean peppercorn sauce and one scoop of something else that I have completely forgotten!! All the sauces I chose were fully vegan. There is a chart at the sauce station that lets you know which sauces are vegan, vegetarian, spicy, etc.I used to ask for the steamed white rice to accompany my stir-fry but the last few times I’ve switched to coconut rice and I love it! Coconut rice seems much more moist and flavorful.

Mongolie Grill stir-fry

Mongolie Grill vegan stir-fry

While I’m not sure what the full nutritional information is for my meal (who cares how many calories or how many grams of fat) I know that what I am eating is completely cruelty free and that I don’t need to worry about hidden substances in my food. I also like that there is a small reward for keeping your meal meat-less. I heartily recommend visiting a Mongolie Grill if you are lucky enough to live near one – you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

