Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookies

Last week a friend of mine on Facebook shared a recipe for Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookies. Always on the lookout for easy, straight-forward vegan recipes (especially the sort that involve chocolate!) I saved the recipe and thought I’d give it a try over the weekend. My only other experiences with vegan baking were several years ago when I made vegan carob chip cookies for my vegan friends as a small gift, which I never actually tried myself; and, a few months ago, when I made a blueberry vanilla protein cookie that turned out horrendously awful. I’m no whiz in the kitchen so I was pretty wary of how this undertaking would turn out.

Thankfully, the Skinny Chunky Monkey cookies are a cinch to make. The ingredients are all standard things you’d likely have already; all I had to pick up from the grocery store was the applesauce. The recipe itself is short, sweet, and completely, blissfully idiot-proof; you don’t even have to pull out a mixer (a huge selling point). 

The finished product:

Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookie

So how did they turn out? Actually, really good! The cookies are very soft and a little sticky so you may want to keep them refrigerated so that they don’t get goopy all over your fingers. They are very dense, so a couple of cookies will satisfy your sweet tooth easily; but, I’ll admit that they are a tad bitter thanks to the cocoa. I think next time I make these I will dust the cookies with a fine coat of confectioner’s sugar/icing sugar once they are done baking – this will help make them a little less sticky and a little bit sweeter. All in all, though, delicious results. I realized I forgot to pack some in my lunch for today and am super disappointed!

I can’t figure out where exactly the recipe originated, so I’ll include the one I found on MyRecipes.com that matches what I found on Facebook. I obviously did not create the recipe, and do not make any claims to it whatsoever.

  • 3 bananas
  • 2 cup(s) oats
  • 1/4 cup(s) peanut butter $
  • 1/4 cup(s) cocoa
  • 1/3 cup(s) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon(s) vanilla

Preparation

  1. Directions:
  2. Preheat oven to 350°F. Mash bananas in a large bowl, then stir in remaining ingredients. Let batter stand for approximately 20 minutes, then drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Just a note: I did end up baking both batches of cookies for closer to 17-18 minutes, so check them at the recommended time and put them back in for longer if need be.

 

2 thoughts on “Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookies

Leave a Reply

