Sunflower

This summer I am taking advantage of the small plot of earth I own that faces the southern sun to actually grow a garden. I selected a small variety of vegetables to plant: onions, broccoli, and tomatoes. Then, because my significant other was adamant about it, we filled in the back of our little triangle-shaped garden with sunflower seeds.

While I’ve been focused on the burgeoning vegetables growing and how my broccoli plant has attracted a pet butterfly I failed to notice just how fast our sunflowers have been growing! I think we may see actual flowers bloom some time in the next couple of weeks.

What is the first thing you planted when you had a bit of earth all to yourself?

Sunflower in July

Sunflower in July

Leave a Reply

